2014-15 Bennett Fellows
Harriet A. Washington
Shearing Fellow
Harriet A. Washington is an award-winning medical writer and journalist. Her book Medical Apartheid: The Dark History of Medical Experimentation on Black Americans from Colonial Times to the Present won the National Book Critics Circle Nonfiction Award and the PEN/Oakland Award. In 2000, she received the Congressional Black Caucus Beacon of Light Award. She has also performed as an oboist and as a classical music announcer for PBS.
Péter Zilahy
BMI - Kluge Fellow at the Library of Congress
Born in Budapest, Hungary, Péter Zilahy is a novelist, poet, playwright, and journalist whose work often blends genres and combines art forms. His books include the poetry collection Statue Under a White Sheet Ready to Jump; a “dictionary novel” titled The Last Window Giraffe, which has been translated into twenty-two languages; Drei, a book of short prose; and the multi-genre work Three plus 1.
2015-16 Shearing Fellow Okey Ndibe
Application & Deadlines

The EXTENDED application deadline for the 2017-18 Bennet Fellowships is November 15, 2016. Mailed materials should postmarked by November 15.

How to Apply

(1) Download and fill out this PDF application form (use Adobe Acrobat for best results).

(2) Submit the PDF form and other required materials online here.

(3) Mail a hard copy of all application materials and one published book (in English) to the following address:

Attn: Fellowship Application
Black Mountain Institute
Box 455085
4505 S. Maryland Parkway
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5085


If you have questions about the Diana L. Bennett Fellows Program, please email Patricia.Haddad@unlv.edu.

Current Fellows
Past Fellows